Up Prev Next

25th Honinbo title


The finals of the preliminaries were won by Fujisawa Hosai, Iwata Tatsuaki, Kano Yoshinori, and Hisai Keishi.


In the first column the white player, on the top row the black player.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
1. Fujisawa Hosai 3-4 W+R W+R B+R
2. Kato Masao 5-2 B+R B+11.5 W+R W+R
3. Hisai Keishi 1-6 B+R B+0.5 W+0.5
4. Sakata Eio 6-1 W+R W+1.5 W+R W+R
5. Takagawa Shukaku 3-4 B+R B+R W+R
6. Iwata Tatsuaki 3-4 W+8.5 W+8.5 B+3.5 B+0.5
7. Fujisawa Shuko 2-5 B+R W+11.5 B+R
8. Kano Yoshinori 5-2 W+R W+R W+0.5 W+R

Demotion Playoff

Each of Takagawa Shukaku, Iwata Tatsuaki and Fujisawa Hosai ended with 3 wins. A playoff determined who of these three remained in the League. Fujisawa Hosai won.

date black white result #mv sgf
1970-06-17,18 Takagawa Shukaku Iwata Tatsuaki B+R 253 sgf
1970-07-01,02 Takagawa Shukaku Fujisawa Hosai W+2.5 284 sgf

25th Honinbo Title

date black white result #mv sgf
1970-04-27,28 Sakata Eio Rin Kaiho W+2.5 253 sgf
1970-05-07,08 Rin Kaiho Sakata Eio B+0.5 264 sgf
1970-05-15,16 Sakata Eio Rin Kaiho W+6.5 246 sgf
1970-05-27,28 Rin Kaiho Sakata Eio B+1.5 240 sgf

Rin Kaiho won 4-0.