Up Prev Next

40th Kisei title

Starting this year, the structure of the Kisei tournament has become much more complicated. There is a knockout 4-round First Tournament, a 32-player C League, two 8-player B Leagues, an 8-player A League, a 6-player S League, and a decision tournament (a ladder) between the winners of these leagues, to determine the challenger in the Kisei Title match.

The S, A, B1 and B2 Leagues are real leagues where each participant plays all others. The C League has fewer games. The final stage of the ladder may consist of two games.

The bottom two of the S League are demoted (to the A League), the top two of the A League are promoted (to the S League).
The bottom four of the A League are demoted (to the two B Leagues), the top two from each B League are promoted (to the A League).
The top six of the C League are promoted (to the two B Leagues), the bottom three from each B League are demoted (to the C League).
The top 16 of the First Tournament are promoted (to the C League), the bottom 16 from the C League are demoted (to the First Tournament). In other words: The C League has five rounds. Whoever loses three times is demoted (and does not play in following rounds, if any). Whoever wins four times is promoted.

Komi is 6.5. Time is 8h for Title games, 5h for the S League, 4h for the A, 3h for the B1, B2 and C Leagues and First Tournament.


S League

Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player)

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6
1. Yamashita Keigo 4-1 W+R W+2.5 W+R
2. Murakawa Daisuke 3-2 W+4.5 W+R
3. Takao Shinji 2-3 B+2.5 B+0.5 W+R
4. Yoda Norimoto 3-2 W+R B+0.5
5. Yamashiro Hiroshi 2-3 W+1.5 B+R B+R
6. Kobayashi Satoru 1-4 B+R B+R

Kobayashi Satoru and Yamashiro Hiroshi are demoted.

A League

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
1. Kono Rin 7-0 W+5.5 W+R W+R
2. Yuki Satoshi 2-5 B+R B+R B+R W+R
3. Hane Naoki 2-5 B+R B+R B+R
4. Cho Chikun 3-4 B+8.5 B+R B+R W+R
5. Ichiriki Ryo 5-2 W+R B+2.5 W+R
6. Cho Riyu 4-3 B+3.5 W+R B+R B+R
7. Cho U 4-3 W+R W+1.5 B+R
8. Mizokami Tomochika 1-6 B+R B+R B+R B+0.5

Kono Rin and Ichiriki Ryo are promoted. Mizokami Tomochika, Hane Naoki, Yuki Satoshi, and Cho Chikun are demoted.


The title challenger is the winner of a ladder with 5 stages:

L1: Winner B1 vs winner B2
L2: Winner L1 vs winner C
L3: Winner L2 vs winner A
L4: Winner L3 vs runner-up S
L5: Winner L4 vs winner S

The last stage of the ladder is a best-of-three playoff where the winner of the S League gets a 1-game advantage. Thus, in order to win this stage, a single win suffices for the winner of the S League, while the winner of stage L4 needs two wins.

stage date black white result #mv sgf
L1 2015-09-17 Awaji Shuzo Yamada Kimio W+8.5 210 sgf
L2 2015-10-01 Yamada Kimio Kyo Kagen B+R 187 sgf
L3 2015-10-15 Yamada Kimio Kono Rin B+R 195 sgf
L4 2015-10-29 Murakawa Daisuke Yamada Kimio B+2.5 249 sgf
L5 2015-11-09 Murakawa Daisuke Yamashita Keigo W+R 176 sgf

40th Kisei Title

date black white result #mv sgf
2016-01-14,15 Yamashita Keigo Iyama Yuta W+R 202 sgf
2016-01-28,29 Iyama Yuta Yamashita Keigo B+2.5 273 sgf
2016-02-01,02 Yamashita Keigo Iyama Yuta W+R 200 sgf
2016-02-17,18 Iyama Yuta Yamashita Keigo B+R 189 sgf

Iyama Yuta won 4-0.