Up Yomiuri Prev Next

6th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 1980-11-20 Hane Yasumasa Shimamura Toshihiro W+R sgf
Qualification final 1980-11-20 Sato Masaharu Takagi Shoichi B+3.5 sgf
Qualification final 1980-11-20 Yamabe Toshiro Asano Hideaki B+R sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Otake Hideo 7-1 W+R W+6.5 W+2.5 W+R
2. Kato Masao 7-1 B+7.5 W+7.5 W+3.5 W+R
3. Takemiya Masaki 4-4 B+5.5 W+0.5 W+R B+R
4. Rin Kaiho 6-2 B+4.5 W+R W+R W+R
5. Kobayashi Koichi 4-4 B+R B+5.5 W+6.5 W+R
6. Sakata Eio 3-5 W+3.5 B+2.5 B+7.5 B+R
7. Shimamura Toshihiro 1-7 B+R B+R B+R B+R
8. Yamabe Toshiro 1-7 B+R B+R B+R B+R
9. Sato Masaharu 3-5 B+R B+R B+R W+R

Yamabe Toshiro, Shimamura Toshihiro, and Sato Masaharu are demoted.


Kato Masao and Otake Hideo both had 7 wins, and played a challenger playoff that was won by Kato Masao.

game date black white result sgf
Challenger playoff 1981-08-20 Kato Masao Otake Hideo B+R sgf

6th Meijin Title

game date black white result sgf
1 1981-09-09,10 Kato Masao Cho Chikun W+1.5 sgf
2 1981-09-24,25 Cho Chikun Kato Masao B+3.5 sgf
3 1981-10-01,02 Kato Masao Cho Chikun W+3.5 sgf
4 1981-10-14,15 Cho Chikun Kato Masao B+2.5 sgf

Cho Chikun won 4-0.