Up Yomiuri Prev Next

27th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 2001-10-25 O Rissei Hasegawa Sunao B+R sgf
Qualification final 2001-11-01 Cho U Hikosaka Naoto W+R sgf
Qualification final 2001-11-08 Yo Kagen Yamashita Keigo W+7.5


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Rin Kaiho 4-4 B+R W+R B+4.5 B+R
2. Cho Chikun 7-1 W+8.5 W+R W+7.5 W+13.5
3. Ryu Shikun 6-2 B+R W+R W+4.5 W+2.5
4. Cho Sonjin 1-7 B+R B+R B+1.5 B+R
5. O Meien 5-3 B+R W+R W+2.5 W+R
6. Kato Masao 1-7 B+13.5 B+R B+1.5 B+3.5
7. O Rissei 3-5 B+R B+R W+3.5 B+R
8. Hikosaka Naoto 3-5 B+R W+R B+R B+R
9. Yamashita Keigo 6-2 W+R W+2.5 W+R W+R

Demotion Playoff

O Rissei and Hikosaka Naoto both had 3 wins, and played a demotion playoff that was won by O Rissei.

game date black white result sgf
Demotion playoff 2002-08-05 O Rissei Hikosaka Naoto B+R sgf

Kato Masao, Cho Sonjin, and Hikosaka Naoto are demoted.

27th Meijin Title

1 2002-09-11,12 Cho Chikun Yoda Norimoto W+R sgf
2 2002-09-25,26 Yoda Norimoto Cho Chikun B+2.5 sgf
3 2002-10-02,03 Cho Chikun Yoda Norimoto B+2.5 sgf
4 2002-10-16,17 Yoda Norimoto Cho Chikun B+0.5 sgf
5 2002-10-23,24 Cho Chikun Yoda Norimoto W+R sgf

Yoda Norimoto won 4-1.