Up Yomiuri Prev Next

29th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Group 1 Final 2003-11-06 Katayama Yasuo Imamura Toshiya W+3.5 sgf
Group 2 Final 2003-10-30 Takao Shinji Yamada Kimio W+R sgf
Group 3 Final 2003-11-06 Hane Naoki Kobayashi Satoru W+1.5 sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Yamashita Keigo 4-4 W+R B+R W+1.5 B+2.5
2. Rin Kaiho 3-5 B+R W+R W+3.5 B+3.5
3. Cho U 6-2 B+R W+1.5 B+5.5 W+R
4. O Rissei 3-5 W+5.5 B+R B+R B+R
5. Cho Chikun 1-7 B+R B+R B+R B+R
6. O Meien 4-4 W+R B+R B+2.5 W+2.5
7. Kobayashi Satoru 6-2 W+4.5 B+0.5 W+R W+R
8. Imamura Toshiya 5-3 B+0.5 W+R W+R W+R
9. Yamada Kimio 4-4 W+R B+R W+0.5 B+R

Cho Chikun, O Rissei, and Rin Kaiho are demoted.


Cho U and Kobayashi Satoru both had 6 wins, and played a challenger playoff that was won by Cho U.

game date black white result sgf
Challengers' Final 2004-08-09 Cho U Kobayashi Satoru B+2.5 sgf

29th Meijin Title

1 2004-09-09,10 Yoda Norimoto Cho U B+0.5 sgf
2 2004-09-22,23 Cho U Yoda Norimoto B+3.5 sgf
3 2004-09-29,30 Yoda Norimoto Cho U B+R sgf
4 2004-10-13,14 Cho U Yoda Norimoto B+7.5 sgf
5 2004-10-21,22 Yoda Norimoto Cho U W+4.5 sgf
6 2004-11-03,04 Cho U Yoda Norimoto B+1.5 sgf

Cho U won 4-2.