

IPTC Document: CWC 0502.1

IPTC SPRING MEETING 2005

held at the Holiday in on the Bay hotel 1355 Harbour Drive, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

3rd to 5th March 2005

Minutes of the Committee of the Whole Council held on 3rd March 2005

Document history [Document Document Doc			ocument URN: urn:iptc:workdoc:cwc:0502:1]	
Revision	Issue Date	Pages	Author (revised by)	Remark
unrevised	2005-03-19	2	Michael Steidl/John lobst	

Present:

Chairman: John Iobst, Newspaper Association of America

Walter Baranger, New York Times Company

Dave Compton, Reuters Limited

Jay Cousins, RivCom

Honor Craig-Bennett, PA NewsLtd Arnaud Descamps, Relaxnews Takahiro Fujiwara, EAST Co. Ltd Stéphane Guérillot, Agence France Presse

Darko Gulija, HINA

Klaus Herwig, Deutsche Presse-Agentur GmbH

Niels Hojer-Pedersen, Ritzau Bureau I's Rudi Horvath, Austria Presse Agentur

Hugh Johnstone, IPTC

Alan Karben, XML Team Solutions, Inc.

Dean Large, Business Wire

Laurent Le Meur, Agence France Presse Jaak Leenknegt, Agence de Presse Belga Johan Lindgren, Tidningarnas Telegrambyrå

Michael Steidl, IPTC Managing Director as Secretary

Harald Löffler, ifra

Jayson Lorenzen, Business Wire

Angelo Marrara, ANSA

John Minting, United Press International

Peter Müller, SDA/ATS

Stuart Myles, Dow Jones & Company

Karl Oanes, CCNMatthews

Jean-François Richard, Agence France Presse

Hitoshi Saito, Nihon Shinbun Kyokai Hiroshi Shinotsuka, Kyodo News

Klaus Sprick, Deutsche Presse-Agentur GmbH Henrik Stadler, Tidningarnas Telegrambyrå Charles Tichenor, The Associated Press

Misha Wolf, Reuters Limited

1 Welcome

The Chairman said a welcome to all member delegates present at the Spring Meeting 2004 and announced the Management Committee has approved the application of two new members:

- Athens Technology Center, Greece
- Mainstream Data Inc, USA

2 Presentation of the amended Operating Procedures 2004

The Chairman said in late 2004 the Management Committee discussed amending the Operating Procedures to comply with the changes made to the Articles of Association at the AGM 2004 and to make the content more consistent. The key contributions came from Klaus Sprick.

Klaus Sprick gave an overview of the changes made. According to the Articles it was defined to have currently two classes of Associate Membership:

- Full Associate Membership, its membership fee has been reduced by 50% for the first year for all new members, by application this period can be extended.
- Honorary Membership with a free membership fee.

CWC0502 1-SpMminutes.doc Page 1 of 2

IPTC Document: CWC 0502.1



No questions were raised from the membership present.

Klaus Sprick said the Operating Procedures were approved by the Management Committee in December 2004, hence they are in power since then.

3 Vote to make Klaus Sprick Honorary Member

MOTION pursuant to section 8 of the Operating Procedures 2004: "To make Klaus Sprick an Honorary Member of the IPTC"

This motion was moved by Rudi Horvath and seconded by John Minting.

VOTE: This motion was agreed unanimously.

Klaus Sprick thanked all for the confidence they have shown in his work done for the IPTC by awarding him Honorary Membership. He said he will continue working on IPTC issues – primarily a continued IPTC history since 1990 – even with his retirement from dpa.

=== END of document ===

CWC0502 1-SpMminutes.doc Page 2 of 2