Up Prev Next

9th Honinbo title


The finals of the (only) preliminary were won by Suzuki Goro, Shimamura Toshihiro, Sugiuchi Masao, and Segawa Yoshio.


In the first column the white player, on the top row the black player.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
1. Sakata Eio 3-3 W+4.5 B+R W+R
2. Hashimoto Utaro 3-3 B+0.5 B+4.5 W+R
3. Miyashita Shuyo 4-2 B+R W+1.5 W+6.5
4. Shimamura Toshihiro 4-2 B+3.5 W+R W+3.5
5. Sugiuchi Masao 5-1 W+2.5 W+R W+0.5
6. Suzuki Goro 1-5 B+6.5 B+R W+R
7. Segawa Yoshio 1-5 W+3.5 B+R B+R

Kitani Minoru should have been part of this League, but he was ill and did not play.

On 1954-07-21,22 there was a playoff for the 2nd place between Shimamura and Miyashita (won by Shimamura). There should have been a demotion playoff between Sakata and Hashimoto, but it was lost by Hashimoto by default.

9th Honinbo Title

date black white result #mv sgf
1954-05-16,17 Takagawa Shukaku Sugiuchi Masao B+R 175 sgf
1954-05-28,29 Sugiuchi Masao Takagawa Shukaku B+0.5 230 sgf
1954-06-10,11 Takagawa Shukaku Sugiuchi Masao B+4.5 257 sgf
1954-06-22,23 Sugiuchi Masao Takagawa Shukaku B+R 173 sgf
1954-07-05,06 Takagawa Shukaku Sugiuchi Masao B+R 157 sgf
1954-07-16,17 Sugiuchi Masao Takagawa Shukaku W+1.5 271 sgf

Takagawa Shukaku won 4-2.