Up Prev Next

12th Honinbo title


Unlike last year, the preliminaries again follow a knockout system. The finals of the preliminaries were won by Suzuki Etsuo, Hashimoto Utaro, Murashima Yoshinori, and Yamabe Toshiro.


From now on, the League has 8 players. Each year the bottom four are demoted. Each year the four winners of the preliminaries are added.

In the first column the white player, on the top row the black player.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
1. Kitani Minoru 6-1 B+R W+R W+R
2. Shimamura Toshihiro 3-4 B+R B+1.5 W+4.5 W+1.5
3. Fujisawa Hosai 6-1 B+R W+4.5 W+R W+R
4. Iwamoto Kaoru 3-4 B+0.5 B+R B+3.5
5. Hashimoto Utaro 4-3 W+R B+2.5 B+R
6. Murashima Yoshinori 2-5 B+0.5 B+R B+2.5
7. Yamabe Toshiro 2-5 W+4.5 B+R B+R B+R
8. Suzuki Etsuo 2-5 B+R B+R B+R W+R

Demotion Playoff

date black white result #mv sgf
1957-07-17,18 Shimamura Toshihiro Iwamoto Kaoru B+5.5 262 sgf

Suzuki Etsuo, Yamabe Toshiro, Murashima Yoshinori, and Iwamoto Kaoru are demoted.

Challenger Playoff

date black white result #mv sgf
1957-06-16,17 Fujisawa Hosai Kitani Minoru B+6.5 244 sgf

12th Honinbo Title

date black white result #mv sgf
1957-06-28,29 Takagawa Shukaku Fujisawa Hosai W+4.5 244 sgf
1957-07-09,10 Fujisawa Hosai Takagawa Shukaku W+2.5 302 sgf
1957-07-22,23 Takagawa Shukaku Fujisawa Hosai B+R 171 sgf
1957-08-02,03 Fujisawa Hosai Takagawa Shukaku W+R 206 sgf
1957-08-15,16 Takagawa Shukaku Fujisawa Hosai W+R 216 sgf
1957-08-26,27 Fujisawa Hosai Takagawa Shukaku W+2.5 282 sgf

Takagawa Shukaku won 4-2.