Up Prev Next

20th Honinbo title


The finals of the preliminaries were won by Shinohara Masami, Fujisawa Shuko, Miyamoto Naoki, and Rin Kaiho.


In the first column the white player, on the top row the black player.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
1. Takagawa Shukaku 4-2 W+7.5 W+1.5 B+R
2. Hashimoto Utaro 4-2 W+2.5 B+9.5
3. Yamabe Toshiro 4-2 B+R B+R W+5.5
4. Rin Kaiho 3-3 W+R B+2.5 B+R W+4.5
5. Miyamoto Naoki 2-4 B+2.5 B+R B+R B+R
6. Shinohara Masami 0-6 B+0.5 B+R
7. Fujisawa Shuko 4-2 B+R W+5.5 B+R

Kitani Minoru did not play. He, Shinohara Masami, Miyamoto Naoki, and Rin Kaiho were demoted.

Challenger Playoff

Four players had 4 wins, and they played a small knockout match to determine the challenger.

date black white result #mv sgf
1965-04-07,08 Yamabe Toshiro Fujisawa Shuko B+R 143 sgf
1965-04-07,08 Hashimoto Utaro Takagawa Shukaku B+1.5 293 sgf
1965-04-14,15 Yamabe Toshiro Hashimoto Utaro B+R 233 sgf

20th Honinbo Title

date black white result #mv sgf
1965-04-28,29 Yamabe Toshiro Sakata Eio W+R 178 sgf
1965-05-07,08 Sakata Eio Yamabe Toshiro B+R 129 sgf
1965-05-17,18 Yamabe Toshiro Sakata Eio W+R 154 sgf
1965-05-27,28 Sakata Eio Yamabe Toshiro B+8.5 295 sgf

Sakata Eio won 4-0.