Up Prev Next

58th Honinbo title


The finals of the Last preliminary tournament were won by Ryu Shikun, Kobayashi Koichi, Rin Kaiho, and Yamashita Keigo.


In the first column the white player, on the top row the black player.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
1. O Meien 6-1 W+R W+6.5 W+4.5
2. Cho U 6-1 W+R W+R W+R B+R
3. Cho Sonjin 2-5 B+4.5 B+3.5 B+5.5
4. Cho Chikun 2-5 B+R B+R W+1.5 B+R
5. Kobayashi Koichi 3-4 B+11.5 B+5.5 W+R
6. Rin Kaiho 2-5 B+R W+R B+R B+0.5
7. Ryu Shikun 2-5 B+R W+R B+R
8. Yamashita Keigo 5-2 B+0.5 B+R W+4.5 W+R

Rin Kaiho, Ryu Shikun, Cho Chikun, and Cho Sonjin are demoted.

Challenger Playoff

Both O Meien and Cho U had 6 wins. They played a challenger playoff won by Cho U.

date black white result #mv sgf
2003-04-07 Cho U O Meien B+5.5 311 sgf

58th Honinbo Title

date black white result #mv sgf
2003-05-14,15 Kato Masao Cho U B+R 183 sgf
2003-05-26,27 Cho U Kato Masao B+R 205 sgf
2003-06-02,03 Kato Masao Cho U B+R 203 sgf
2003-06-16,17 Cho U Kato Masao B+R 223 sgf
2003-06-25,26 Kato Masao Cho U W+5.5 260 sgf
2003-07-10,11 Cho U Kato Masao B+9.5 335 sgf

Cho U won 4-2.