Up Prev Next

59th Honinbo title


The finals of the Last preliminary tournament were won by Yoda Norimoto, O Rissei, Cho Sonjin, and Mimura Tomoyasu.


In the first column the white player, on the top row the black player.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
1. Kato Masao 2-5 B+2.5 B+R B+3.5
2. O Meien 2-5 W+11.5 B+5.5 W+R B+R
3. Yamashita Keigo 3-4 W+R B+R B+6.5
4. Kobayashi Koichi 3-4 B+R W+1.5 B+2.5 B+1.5
5. Yoda Norimoto 5-2 W+6.5 W+6.5 W+1.5
6. O Rissei 4-3 W+0.5 W+3.5 W+2.5 B+R
7. Cho Sonjin 4-3 W+2.5 B+R W+R
8. Mimura Tomoyasu 5-2 B+R B+R W+2.5 W+R

O Meien, Kato Masao, Kobayashi Koichi, and Yamashita Keigo are demoted.

Challenger Playoff

Both Yoda Norimoto and Mimura Tomoyasu had 5 wins. They played a challenger playoff won by Yoda Norimoto.

date black white result #mv sgf
2004-04-05 Yoda Norimoto Mimura Tomoyasu B+2.5 266 sgf

59th Honinbo Title

date black white result #mv sgf
2004-05-07,08 Yoda Norimoto Cho U W+0.5 268 sgf
2004-05-24,25 Cho U Yoda Norimoto B+R 159 sgf
2004-05-31,06-01 Yoda Norimoto Cho U B+R 247 sgf
2004-06-17,18 Cho U Yoda Norimoto B+7.5 281 sgf
2004-06-24,25 Yoda Norimoto Cho U B+R 203 sgf
2004-07-08,09 Cho U Yoda Norimoto B+0.5 246 sgf

Cho U won 4-2.