Up Yomiuri Prev Next

9th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 1983-10-20 Takagi Shoichi Kataoka Satoshi B+10.5 sgf
Qualification final 1983-10-20 Fujisawa Hosai Kobayashi Satoru W+13.5 sgf
Qualification final 1983-10-27 Hashimoto Shoji Hane Yasumasa B+3.5 sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Otake Hideo 5-3 W+0.5 W+2.5 W+R B+R
2. Rin Kaiho 4-4 B+R B+2.5 B+R B+R
3. Kato Masao 4-4 B+1.5 W+1.5 W+2.5 W+R
4. Kobayashi Koichi 5-3 W+R W+R B+R B+2.5
5. Sakata Eio 2-6 B+1.5 B+4.5 B+2.5 W+R
6. Ishida Akira 5-3 W+R W+R B+R B+R
7. Hashimoto Shoji 3-5 B+5.5 B+R W+0.5 W+R
8. Takagi Shoichi 5-3 B+R B+6.5 W+0.5 W+1.5
9. Kobayashi Satoru 3-5 B+R W+3.5 B+R W+0.5

Sakata Eio, Kobayashi Satoru, and Hashimoto Shoji are demoted.


Otake Hideo and Kobayashi Koichi both had 6 wins, and played a challenger playoff that was won by Otake Hideo.

game date black white result sgf
Challenger playoff 1984-08-23 Otake Hideo Kobayashi Koichi B+R sgf

9th Meijin Title

game date black white result sgf
1 1984-09-12,13 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun B+2.5 sgf
2 1984-09-26,27 Cho Chikun Otake Hideo W+R sgf
3 1984-10-03,04 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun B+R sgf
4 1984-10-17,18 Cho Chikun Otake Hideo B+1.5 sgf
5 1984-10-24,25 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun W+R sgf
6 1984-11-07,08 Cho Chikun Otake Hideo B+3.5 sgf
7 1984-11-14,15 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun W+R sgf

Cho Chikun won 4-3.