Up Yomiuri Prev Next

8th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 1982-10-21 Ishida Akira Fujisawa Hosai B+R sgf
Qualification final 1982-10-28 Ishii Kunio Kajiwara Takeo B+8.5 sgf
Qualification final 1982-11-04 Takemiya Masaki Tono Hiroaki W+3.5 sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Otake Hideo 7-1 W+6.5 W+T W+R W+R
2. Rin Kaiho 6-2 W+9.5 W+3.5 B+R W+3.5
3. Kobayashi Koichi 4-4 B+R B+10.5 W+R W+R
4. Sakata Eio 4-4 B+1.5 B+9.5 B+0.5 W+R
5. Kato Masao 6-2 W+R W+1.5 W+R W+R
6. Hane Yasumasa 2-6 B+R B+R W+R B+R
7. Tono Hiroaki 2-6 B+R B+3.5 B+R B+R
8. Ishii Kunio 1-7 B+R B+R B+R B+R
9. Ishida Akira 4-4 B+R B+R W+1.5 W+R

Ishii Kunio, Tono Hiroaki, and Hane Yasumasa are demoted.

8th Meijin Title

game date black white result sgf
1 1983-09-07,08 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun W+1.5 sgf
2 1983-09-20,21 Cho Chikun Otake Hideo B+R sgf
3 1983-09-28,29 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun B+R sgf
4 1983-10-12,13 Cho Chikun Otake Hideo B+R sgf
5 1983-10-19,20 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun W+R sgf

Cho Chikun won 4-1.