Up Yomiuri Prev Next

14th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 1988-10-06 Honda Kunihisa Yamashiro Hiroshi B+3.5 sgf
Qualification final 1988-10-06 Ohira Shuzo Kamimura Kunio W+5.5 sgf
Qualification final 1988-10-13 Awaji Shuzo Kataoka Satoshi B+4.5 sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Kato Masao 3-5 W+0.5 W+R B+R B+R
2. Rin Kaiho 6-2 W+1.5 W+R W+1.5 W+R
3. Cho Chikun 4-4 W+5.5 B+R B+1.5 W+R
4. Fujisawa Shuko 3-5 W+1.5 B+R B+7.5 B+R
5. Takemiya Masaki 5-3 W+R W+1.5 B+8.5 W+R
6. Ishida Yoshio 3-5 B+R B+4.5 W+6.5 B+R
7. Honda Kunihisa 4-4 B+0.5 B+R B+R W+R
8. Awaji Shuzo 6-2 W+1.5 W+1.5 B+R W+R
9. Kamimura Kunio 2-6 B+R B+R W+0.5 B+6.5

Kamimura Kunio, Ishida Yoshio, and Fujisawa Shuko are demoted.


Rin Kaiho and Awaji Shuzo both had 6 wins, and played a challenger playoff that was won by Awaji Shuzo.

game date black white result sgf
Challenger playoff 1989-08-14 Rin Kaiho Awaji Shuzo W+2.5 sgf

14th Meijin Title

game date black white result sgf
1 1989-09-14,15 Kobayashi Koichi Awaji Shuzo W+3.5 sgf
2 1989-09-27,28 Awaji Shuzo Kobayashi Koichi W+R sgf
3 1989-10-04,05 Kobayashi Koichi Awaji Shuzo B+3.5 sgf
4 1989-10-18,19 Awaji Shuzo Kobayashi Koichi W+2.5 sgf
5 1989-11-01,02 Kobayashi Koichi Awaji Shuzo B+R sgf

Kobayashi Koichi won 4-1.