Up Yomiuri Prev Next

13th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 1987-11-05 Ohira Shuzo Takagi Shoichi B+R sgf
Qualification final 1987-11-05 Shiraishi Yutaka Ishida Yoshio W+2.5 sgf
Qualification final 1987-11-05 Yamashiro Hiroshi Awaji Shuzo W+R sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Rin Kaiho 6-2 B+0.5 W+R W+3.5 W+6.5
2. Kobayashi Koichi 6-2 W+4.5 W+R B+0.5 B+R
3. Cho Chikun 5-3 B+R W+R W+0.5 B+R
4. Ishida Akira 0-8 B+R B+0.5 B+R B+R
5. Takemiya Masaki 4-4 B+2.5 W+R B+R W+R
6. Fujisawa Shuko 5-3 B+R W+4.5 B+R W+2.5
7. Ishida Yoshio 4-4 B+2.5 W+R W+2.5 W+R
8. Ohira Shuzo 3-5 B+R B+R B+R W+1.5
9. Awaji Shuzo 3-5 B+R W+R B+2.5 W+R

Ishida Akira, Awaji Shuzo, and Ohira Shuzo are demoted.


Rin Kaiho and Kobayashi Koichi both had 6 wins, and played a challenger playoff that was won by Kobayashi Koichi.

game date black white result sgf
Challenger playoff 1988-08-15 Kobayashi Koichi Rin Kaiho B+16.5 sgf

13th Meijin Title

game date black white result sgf
1 1988-09-07,08 Kato Masao Kobayashi Koichi B+R sgf
2 1988-09-20,21 Kobayashi Koichi Kato Masao B+R sgf
3 1988-09-28,29 Kato Masao Kobayashi Koichi W+2.5 sgf
4 1988-10-12,13 Kobayashi Koichi Kato Masao B+R sgf
5 1988-10-19,20 Kato Masao Kobayashi Koichi W+R sgf

Kobayashi Koichi won 4-1.