Up Yomiuri Prev Next

21st Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 1995-11-09 Kojima Takaho Yoda Norimoto W+1.5 sgf
Qualification final 1995-11-16 Kudo Norio Ryu Shikun B+3.5 sgf
Qualification final 1995-11-09 Otake Hideo O Meien W+R sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Kobayashi Koichi 5-3 W+1.5 W+2.5 W+R B+6.5
2. O Rissei 6-2 B+3.5 W+4.5 W+3.5 W+R
3. Cho Chikun 7-1 W+R W+R W+0.5 W+3.5
4. Kato Masao 6-2 W+R B+0.5 W+R W+3.5
5. Kataoka Satoshi 4-4 B+R B+R W+R W+4.5
6. Rin Kaiho 3-5 W+R B+3.5 B+4.5 B+R
7. Yoda Norimoto 0-8 B+3.5 B+R B+10.5 B+R
8. Kudo Norio 2-6 B+R B+14.5 B+11.5 W+0.5
9. O Meien 3-5 B+6.5 B+R B+2.5 W+3.5

Yoda Norimoto, Kudo Norio and O Meien are demoted.

21st Meijin Title

game date black white result sgf
1 1996-09-06,07 Cho Chikun Takemiya Masaki B+R sgf
2 1996-09-18,19 Takemiya Masaki Cho Chikun B+R sgf
3 1996-10-02,03 Cho Chikun Takemiya Masaki B+11.5 sgf
4 1996-10-09,10 Takemiya Masaki Cho Chikun W+R sgf
5 1996-10-23,24 Cho Chikun Takemiya Masaki W+R sgf
6 1996-11-06,07 Takemiya Masaki Cho Chikun W+R sgf

Cho Chikun won 4-2.