Up Prev Next

35th Honinbo title


In the preliminaries, Kobayashi Koichi, Cho Chikun, Shiraishi Yutaka, and Fujisawa Hosai qualified for the League.


In the first column the white player, on the top row the black player.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
1. Rin Kaiho 5-2 B+2.5 W+R W+R W+R
2. Ishida Yoshio 1-6 B+R B+R B+R B+R
3. Takemiya Masaki 6-1 W+R W+2.5 W+6.5 W+1.5
4. Sakata Eio 5-2 B+8.5 W+4.5 B+5.5
5. Cho Chikun 5-2 B+2.5 B+R W+8.5
6. Fujisawa Hosai 1-6 B+4.5 B+R B+R
7. Shiraishi Yutaka 2-5 B+R B+R B+R
8. Kobayashi Koichi 3-4 W+R B+R B+R W+R

(In later years the tournament tables have a nice alternating pattern. This year the pattern is different.)

Fujisawa Hosai, Ishida Yoshio, Shiraishi Yutaka and Kobayashi Koichi are demoted.

35th Honinbo Title

date black white result #mv sgf
1980-05-15,16 Kato Masao Takemiya Masaki W+1.5 268 sgf
1980-05-28,29 Takemiya Masaki Kato Masao B+R 149 sgf
1980-06-11,12 Kato Masao Takemiya Masaki B+R 171 sgf
1980-06-18,19 Takemiya Masaki Kato Masao B+R 205 sgf
1980-07-04,05 Kato Masao Takemiya Masaki W+R 176 sgf

Takemiya Masaki won 4-1.