Up Yomiuri Prev Next

16th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 1990-10-04 Kato Masao Ishii Kunio W+2.5 sgf
Qualification final 1990-10-04 Mimura Tomoyasu Ota Seido B+3.5 sgf
Qualification final 1990-10-25 Fujisawa Shuko Ohira Shuzo B+R sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Otake Hideo 3-5 B+5.5 B+R W+R W+R
2. Takemiya Masaki 6-2 W+R B+2.5 B+0.5 W+R
3. Cho Chikun 4-4 W+R B+R B+0.5 W+R
4. Awaji Shuzo 3-5 B+R B+R B+R W+R
5. Rin Kaiho 8-0 W+R W+0.5 W+R W+1.5
6. Yoda Norimoto 4-4 B+0.5 W+3.5 W+R B+2.5
7. Fujisawa Shuko 4-4 W+R B+R B+2.5 B+R
8. Ishii Kunio 2-6 B+4.5 W+3.5 B+R B+1.5
9. Mimura Tomoyasu 2-6 B+R B+R B+3.5 B+2.5

Mimura Tomoyasu, Ishii Kunio, and Awaji Shuzo are demoted.

16th Meijin Title

game date black white result sgf
1 1991-09-11,12 Rin Kaiho Kobayashi Koichi W+2.5 sgf
2 1991-09-25,26 Kobayashi Koichi Rin Kaiho W+2.5 sgf
3 1991-10-02,03 Rin Kaiho Kobayashi Koichi W+3.5 sgf
4 1991-10-16,17 Kobayashi Koichi Rin Kaiho B+5.5 sgf
5 1991-10-23,24 Rin Kaiho Kobayashi Koichi W+3.5 sgf

Kobayashi Koichi won 4-1.