Up Yomiuri Prev Next

17th Meijin title


The lowest three players from the previous year are demoted, and entrance matches determine which three new players enter the League.

game date black white result sgf
Qualification final 1991-10-10 Awaji Shuzo Kudo Norio B+7.5 sgf
Qualification final 1991-10-24 Iwata Tatsuaki O Rissei B+R sgf
Qualification final 1991-10-24 Komatsu Hideki Ishida Yoshio B+4.5 sgf


Results (in the first column the white player, on the top row the black player). The ordering of the first six players is according to their results in the previous year. The last three are the winners of the entrance matches.

# player result 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1. Rin Kaiho 3-5 B+4.5 W+R W+R B+R
2. Takemiya Masaki 4-4 W+4.5 W+3.5 B+1.5 B+3.5
3. Cho Chikun 5-3 W+4.5 B+R W+4.5 W+R
4. Yoda Norimoto 5-3 W+3.5 B+4.5 B+3.5 W+R
5. Fujisawa Shuko 2-6 B+R B+R B+3.5 B+R
6. Otake Hideo 7-1 B+R W+R W+6.5 W+R
7. Iwata Tatsuaki 2-6 W+1.5 B+R B+R B+6.5
8. Awaji Shuzo 5-3 W+R W+R B+2.5 W+5.5
9. Komatsu Hideki 3-5 B+R B+R B+R B+R

Iwata Tatsuaki, Fujisawa Shuko, and Komatsu Hideki are demoted.

17th Meijin Title

game date black white result sgf
1 1992-09-09,10 Kobayashi Koichi Otake Hideo B+R sgf
2 1992-09-24,25 Otake Hideo Kobayashi Koichi B+0.5 sgf
3 1992-09-30,10-01 Kobayashi Koichi Otake Hideo B+1.5 sgf
4 1992-10-14,15 Otake Hideo Kobayashi Koichi B+R sgf
5 1992-10-21,22 Kobayashi Koichi Otake Hideo B+R sgf
6 1992-11-04,05 Otake Hideo Kobayashi Koichi B+3.5 sgf
7 1992-11-11,12 Otake Hideo Kobayashi Koichi W+1.5 sgf

Kobayashi Koichi won 4-3.